Please Note: This version of the "Portland Notice of Rent Increase" form is for use with Rental Properties within the City of Portland, Oregon ONLY.
To switch to the standard Oregon State version of this form click the button below.
Rent increases must be served to each affected party and may not exceed 7% plus the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for the West Coast during any 12-month period, unless first Certificate of Occupancy was issued less than 15 years prior from the date of the Notice of Rent Increase, or Owner/Agent provides reduced Rent to the Tenant(s) as part of a federal, state or local program or subsidy.
RELOCATION FEE - If the Rental Unit is locted within he city limits of Portland, a Rent Increase of 10% or more may require payment of a Relocation Fee under certian circumstances, unless exempt.
Visit https://www.portland.gov/rental-services/renter-relocation-assistance to learn more.
Properties whose Certificate of Occupancy was effective within the past 15 years are exempt.
Rents may not be increased during the first year of a month-to-month tenancy.
If notice is served by mail ONLY, the Ending Date must include an additional four (4) days to allow for the delivery of notice, including Date of Mailing.
This notice, if mailed, shall be mailed First Class Mail ONLY (not certified, registered, etc.).
For residential rental units within Portlnd city limits, these rights and responsibilities are in addition to protections set forth in the Oregon Residential Landlord and Tenant Act under Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 90, and Portland Landlord-Tenant Law under Portland City Code Title 30.
Landlords must include this notice (or another notice with similar information) with each and any Termination Notice, Increase Notice, and Relocation Assistance Payment
The information in this notice is for educational purposes only. You should review appropriate state statute, city code, and administrative rule as necessary. If you need legal guidance, or are considering taking legal action, you should contact an attorney.
No Cause Evictions and Non-Renewals
If your Landlord is ending your rental agreement without a tenant-based cause, you have the right to a written notice of termination at least 90 days before the termination date designated in the notice. Your landlord may have the obligation to pay you relocation assistance at least 45 days before the termination date designated in the notice.
Qualifying Landlord Reason for Termination
If your Landlord is ending your rental agreement for a qualifying landlord reason, you have the right to a written notice of termination at least 90 days before the termination date designated in the notice. Your landlord may have the obligation to pay you relocation assistance (city requirement) and/or one month’s rent (state requirement).
If both are owed, your landlord has two options for paying relocation assistance and one month’s rent owed:
V3 VED: 1Aug22
Page 1 of 3
If your Landlord raises your rent, you may have the right to a written notice of the rent increase at least 90 days before the effective date of the rent increase. The increase notice must state the amount of the increase, the amount of the new rent or housing costs, and the effective date of the increase.
If your Landlord raises your rent by amounts totaling 10% or more during any 12-month period, you may have the right to request relocation assistance. You must write to your Landlord within 45 days of receiving a rent increase to request relocation assistance. Your landlord then has the obligation to pay you the relocation assistance amount within 31 days of receiving your notice. You then have the obligation to, within 6 months, either pay back the relocation assistance and stay or provide your Landlord with written notice that you’re terminating your tenancy and then move out. Either way, you must pay the increased rent while you continue to rent the unit.
Relocation Assistance Amount
Unless your landlord is exempt you may have the right to the relocation amount as listed below. Amounts are dependent on the number of bedrooms being rented on a rental agreement. You have the right to one relocation assistance amount per rental agreement, not per tenant.
Studio, SRO, or rented bedroom in a shared house: $2,900
One-bedroom unit: $3,300
Two-bedroom unit: $4,200
Three-bedroom unit or larger: $4,500
In some circumstances, your landlord may be exempt from paying relocation assistance. Most exemptions require the landlord to provide to the tenant an Acknowledgement Letter from PHB. If you receive an Acknowledgement Letter, closely review it for details about the exemption. For more information, visit [https://www.portland.gov/phb/rental-services/renter-relocation-assistance] or call the PHB Rental Services Office at 503-823-1303.
If your Landlord does not meet their obligations under Portland’s relocation assistance law you may have the right to legal recourse to protect your rights. A Landlord that fails to comply with any of the requirements above may owe you up to 3 times your rent as well as the Relocation Assistance amount, reasonable attorney fees and other costs.
V3 VED: 1Aug22
Page 2 of 3
If you believe you have been harassed or discriminated against because of your race, color,national origin, religion, gender, familial status, disability, marital status, source of income,sexual orientation including gender identity, domestic violence, type of occupation,or age over 18 seek legal guidance regarding your rights under Fair Housing law.
For translation or interpretation, please call 503-823-1303TTY at 503-823-6868 or Oregon Relay Service at 711
503-823-1303: Traducción e interpretación | Chuyển Ngữ hoặc Phiên Dịch | 翻译或传译
Письменныйили устный перевод | 翻訳または通訳| Traducere sau Interpretare
번역 및 통역 | Письмовий або усний переклад | Turjumida ama Fasiraadda
ةيوفشلاو ةيريرحتلا ةمجتر لا | ການແປພາສາ ຫຼື ການອະທິ ບາຍ
V3 VED: 1Aug22
Page 3 of 3
© 2019-2023 Oregon Rental Housing Association - All Rights Reserved
PO Box 20862, Keizer, OR 97307