Please Note: This version of the "Portland Notice of Termination Without Stated Cause First-Year of Occupancy" form is for use with Rental Properties within the City of Portland, Oregon ONLY.
To switch to the standard Oregon State version of this form click the button below.
If your Termination Date is not at the end of your Rental Period, or you have paid a last months’ Rent Deposit but the amount held is insufficient to cover the remainder of the Termination Period, you will owe Rent for a partial month.
If you did pay a last month’s Rent Deposit that exceeds the Date of Termination, the Landlord is required to account for those funds separately at the time of Security Deposit reconciliation within 31 days of surrender of possession of the Dwelling Unit.
The Ending Date must be at least 90 or 180 days from the Date of Service (not including Date of Service unless personally delivered).If notice is served by mail ONLY, the Ending Date must include an additional four (4) days to allow for the delivery of notice, including Date of Mailing.
This notice, if mailed, shall be mailed First Class Mail ONLY (not certified, registered, etc.).
Owner/Agent does not waive the right to terminate by simultaneously or subsequently served notices.
Regardless of length of tenancy, proscribed notice periods may be longer in certain local jurisdictions or in subsidized housing.
If you are a veteran of the armed forces, assistance may be available from a county veterans' service officer or community action agency. Call the 2-1-1 information service to learn about resources in your area.
Rental History Form Required Under Portland City Code Title 30.01.087.F
Within the City of Portland, a landlord is required to provide this completed form to a Tenant within 5 business days of receiving a request from a tenant, receiving notice from the Tenant of intent to terminate the tenancy, or when a Landlord gives notice of intent to terminate a tenancy. This form may be transmitted in digital or paper form.
Rental History Form
Form 30.01.087.F (Valid through 12/31/2022)
Page 1 of 3
Previous Two-Year Rent Payment History (A payment ledger detailing the same information may be used to meet the requirements of this form)
COVID-19 Guidance: A lanlord may choose to indicate 'Deferred' on months where rent payment has been deferred under local, state or federal eviction moratoria
Rental History Form
Form 30.01.087.F (Valid through 12/31/2022)
Page 2 of 3
If you believe you have been harassed or discriminated against because of your race, color,national origin, religion, gender, familial status, disability, marital status, source of income,sexual orientation including gender identity, domestic violence, type of occupation,or age over 18 seek legal guidance regarding your rights under Fair Housing law.
For translation or interpretation, please call 503-823-1303TTY at 503-823-6868 or Oregon Relay Service at 711
503-823-1303: Traducción e interpretación | Chuyển Ngữ hoặc Phiên Dịch | 翻译或传译
Письменныйили устный перевод | 翻訳または通訳| Traducere sau Interpretare
번역 및 통역 | Письмовий або усний переклад | Turjumida ama Fasiraadda
ةيوفشلاو ةيريرحتلا ةمجتر لا | ການແປພາສາ ຫຼື ການອະທິ ບາຍ
This requirement is in addition to any other rights and responsibilities set forth in the OregonResidential Landlord and Tenant Act under Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 90, and PortlandLandlord-Tenant Law under Portland City Code Title 30.
The information in this form is for educational purposes only. You should review appropriatestate statute, city code, and administrative rule as necessary. If you need legal guidance, or are considering taking legal action, you should contact an attorney.
Rental History Form
Form 30.01.087.F (Valid through 12/31/2022)
Page 3 of 3
30.01.085 Portland Renter Additional Protections.
(Added by Ordinance No. 187380; amended by Ordinance Nos. 188219, 188519, 188558, 188628, 188849, 189421 and 189726, effective November 1, 2019.)
A. In addition to the protections set forth in the Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, the following additional protections apply to Tenants that have a Rental Agreement for a Dwelling Unit covered by the Act. For purposes of this chapter, unless otherwise defined herein, capitalized terms have the meaning set forth in the Act.
B. A Landlord may terminate a Rental Agreement without a cause or for a qualifying landlord reason specified in the Act only by delivering a written notice of termination (the “Termination Notice”) to the Tenant of (a) not less than 90 days before the termination date designated in that notice as calculated under the Act; or (b) the time period designated in the Rental Agreement, whichever is longer. Not less than 45 days prior to the termination date provided in the Termination Notice, a Landlord shall pay to the Tenant, as relocation assistance, a payment (“Relocation Assistance”) in the amount that follows: $2,900 for a studio or single room occupancy (“SRO”) Dwelling Unit, $3,300 for a one-bedroom Dwelling Unit, $4,200 for a two-bedroom Dwelling Unit and $4,500 for a three-bedroom or larger Dwelling Unit. For purposes of this Subsection, a Landlord that declines to renew or replace an expiring Rental Agreement is subject to the provisions of this Subsection. The requirements of this Subsection are intended to apply per Dwelling Unit, not per individual Tenant.
C. As allowed by the Act, a Landlord may not increase a Tenant's Rent or Associated Housing Costs by 5 percent or more over a rolling 12-month period unless the Landlord gives notice in writing (the “Increase Notice”) to each affected Tenant: (a) at least 90 days prior to the effective date of the Rent increase; or (b) the time period designated in the Rental Agreement, whichever is longer. The Increase Notice must specify the amount of the increase, the amount of the new Rent or Associated Housing Costs and the date, as calculated under the Act, when the increase becomes effective. If, within 45 calendar days after a Tenant receives an Increase Notice indicating a Rent increase of 10 percent or more within a rolling 12-month period and a Tenant provides written notice to the Landlord of the Tenant’s request for Relocation Assistance (the “Tenant’s Notice”), then, within 31 calendar days of receiving the Tenant’s Notice, the Landlord shall pay to the Tenant Relocation Assistance in the amount that follows: $2,900 for a studio or SRO Dwelling Unit, $3,300 for a one-bedroom Dwelling Unit, $4,200 for a two-bedroom Dwelling Unit and $4,500 for a three-bedroom or larger Dwelling Unit. After the Tenant receives the Relocation Assistance from the Landlord, the Tenant shall have 6 months from the effective date of the Rent increase (the “Relocation Period”) to either: (i) pay back the Relocation Assistance and remain in the Dwelling Unit and, subject to the Act, shall be obligated to pay the increased Rent in accordance with the Increase Notice for the duration of the Tenant’s occupancy of the Dwelling Unit; or (ii) provide the Landlord with a notice to terminate the Rental Agreement in accordance with the Act (the “Tenant’s Termination Notice”). In the event that the Tenant has not repaid the Relocation Assistance to the Landlord or provided the Landlord with the Tenant’s Termination Notice on or before the expiration of the Relocation Period, the Tenant shall be in violation of this Subsection. For purposes of this Subsection, a Landlord that conditions the renewal or replacement of an expiring Rental Agreement on the Tenant’s agreement to pay a Rent increase of 10 percent or more within a rolling 12-month period is subject to the provisions of this Subsection. For purposes of this Subsection, a Landlord that declines to renew or replace an expiring Rental Agreement on substantially the same terms except for the amount of Rent or Associated Housing Costs terminates the Rental Agreement and is subject to the provisions of this Subsection. The requirements of this Subsection are intended to apply per Dwelling Unit, not per individual Tenant. For purposes of this Subsection, a Tenant may only receive and retain Relocation Assistance once per tenancy per Dwelling Unit.
D. A Landlord shall include a description of a Tenant’s rights and obligations and the eligible amount of Relocation Assistance under this Section 30.01.085 with each and any Termination Notice, Increase Notice, and Relocation Assistance payment.
E. A Landlord shall provide notice to the Portland Housing Bureau (PHB) of all payments to Tenants of Relocation Assistance within 30 days of making such payments. This Subsection shall be effective beginning May 1, 2018.
F. For the purposes of this Section 30.01.085, the expiration of Rent concessions specified in the Rental Agreement is not considered a substantial change to a Rental Agreement.
G. For the purposes of this Section 30.01.085 and determining the amount of Relocation Assistance a Landlord shall pay, a Rental Agreement for a single bedroom in a Dwelling Unit as defined by PCC 33.910 is considered a SRO Dwelling Unit.
H. For the purposes of this Section 30.01.085 and determining the amount of Relocation Assistance a Landlord shall pay, if a Landlord is paying relocation assistance required by the Act and Relocation Assistance required by Section 30.01.085 to the Tenant for the same Termination Notice, the Relocation Assistance required by Section 30.01.085 may be reduced by the relocation assistance required by the Act if both payments are paid at the same time and as a single payment.
I. The provisions of this Section 30.01.085 that pertain to Relocation Assistance do not apply to the following so long as the Landlord has submitted a required exemption application form to PHB for which PHB shall have issued an exemption acknowledgment letter, a copy of which the Landlord shall have provided to the Tenant:
1. Rental Agreements for week-to-week tenancies;
2. Tenants that occupy the same Dwelling Unit as the Landlord;
3. Tenants that occupy one Dwelling Unit in a Duplex where the Landlord’s principal residence is the second Dwelling Unit in the same Duplex;
4. Tenants that occupy an Accessory Dwelling Unit that is subject to the Act in the City of Portland so long as the owner of the Accessory Dwelling Unit lives on the site, or Tenancies where the owner occupies the Accessory Dwelling Unit and the Tenant occupies a Dwelling Unit on the site;
5. a Landlord that temporarily rents out the Landlord’s principal residence during the Landlord’s absence of not more than 3 years;
6. a Landlord that temporarily rents out the Landlord’s principal residence during the Landlord’s absence due to active duty military service;
7. a Dwelling Unit where the Landlord is terminating the Rental Agreement in order for an Immediate Family member to occupy the Dwelling Unit;
8. a Dwelling Unit regulated or certified as affordable housing by a federal, state or local government is exempt from paying Relocation Assistance for a Rent increase of 10 percent or more within a rolling 12-month period:
a. so long as such increase does not increase a Tenant’s portion of the Rent payment by 10 percent or more within a rolling 12-month period; or
b. in Lease Agreements where the Rent or eligibility is periodically calculated based on the Tenant’s income or other program eligibility requirements and a Rent increase is necessary due to program eligibility requirements or a change in the Tenant’s income.
This exemption by Subsection 30.01.085 I.8. does not apply to private market-rate Dwelling Units with a Tenant who is the recipient of a federal, state, or local government voucher;
This exemption by Subsection 30.01.085 I.8. applies to Rent increases and does not apply to Termination Notices;
9. a Dwelling Unit that is subject to and in compliance with the federal Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies Act of 1970;
10. a Dwelling Unit rendered immediately uninhabitable not due to the action or inaction of a Landlord or Tenant;
11. a Dwelling Unit rented for less than 6 months with appropriate verification of the submission of a demolition permit prior to the Tenant renting the Dwelling Unit;
12. a Dwelling Unit where the Landlord has provided a Fixed Term Tenancy and notified the Tenant prior to occupancy, of the Landlord’s intent to sell or permanently convert the Dwelling Unit to a use other than as a Dwelling Unit subject to the Act.
A Landlord that authorizes a property manager that is subject to, and manages property in accordance with ORS 696, to manage a Dwelling Unit, does not waive a Dwelling Unit exemption as a result of the collective number of Dwelling Units managed by such a property manager. For purposes of the exemptions provided in this Subsection, “Dwelling Unit” is defined by PCC 33.910, and not by ORS 90.100. For purposes of the exemptions provided in this Subsection, “Accessory Dwelling Unit” is defined by PCC 33.205. For purposes of the exemptions provided in this Subsection, “Duplex” is defined by PCC 33.910. For purposes of the exemptions provided in this Subsection, “Immediate Family” is defined by PHB in administrative rules.
J. A Landlord that fails to comply with any of the requirements set forth in this Section 30.01.085 shall be liable to the Tenant for an amount up to 3 times the monthly Rent as well as actual damages, Relocation Assistance, reasonable attorney fees and costs (collectively, “Damages”). Any Tenant claiming to be aggrieved by a Landlord’s noncompliance with the foregoing has a cause of action in any court of competent jurisdiction for Damages and such other remedies as may be appropriate.
K. In carrying out the provisions of this Section 30.01.085, the Director of PHB, or a designee, is authorized to adopt, amend and repeal administrative rules to carry out and administer the provisions of this Section 30.01.085.
30.01.087 Security Deposits; Pre-paid Rent. (Added by Ordinance No. 189581; amended by Ordinance Nos. 189715 and 190064, effective August 21, 2020.) In addition to the protections set forth in the Oregon Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (“Act”) and in Sections 30.01.085 and 30.01.086, the following additional Tenant protections regarding Security Deposits apply to Rental Agreements for a Dwelling Unit covered by the Act. For purposes of this Section, unless otherwise defined in this Section or elsewhere in Chapter 30, capitalized terms have the meaning set forth in the Act.
A. Amount of Security Deposit.
1. If a Landlord requires, as a condition of tenancy, a Security Deposit that includes last month’s Rent, a Landlord may not collect as an additional part of the Security Deposit more than an amount equal to one-half of one month’s Rent.
2. If a Landlord does not require last month’s Rent, a Landlord may not collect more than an amount equal to one month’s Rent as a Security Deposit.
3. If a Landlord conditionally approves an application subject to an Applicant’s demonstration of financial capacity or to offset risk factors identified by the Applicant screening for tenancy as described in Section 30.01.086, the Landlord may require payment of an amount equal to one-half of one month’s Rent as a Security Deposit in addition to the other amounts authorized in this subsection. The Landlord must allow a Tenant to pay any such additional Security Deposit in installments over a period of up to 3 months in installment amounts reasonably requested by the Tenant.
B. Bank Deposit of Tenant Funds.
1. Within 2 weeks following receipt of a Tenant’s funds paid as a Security Deposit or for last-month’s Rent, a Landlord shall deposit all of such funds into a secure financial institution account segregated from the Landlord’s personal and business operating accounts. If the account is an interest-bearing account, all interest shall accrue proportionately to the benefit of the Tenant and shall be returned to the Tenant with the unused security deposit in accordance with Subsection B.2. below. If the account bears interest, the Landlord is required to pay such interest in full, minus an optional 5 percent deduction for administrative costs from such interest, to the Tenant unless it is used to cover any claims for damage. For interest bearing accounts, the Landlord must provide a receipt of the account and any interest earned at the Tenant’s request, no more than once per year. The Rental Agreement must reflect the name and address of the financial institution at which the Security Deposit is deposited and whether the Security Deposit is held in an interest-bearing account.
2. A Landlord shall provide a written accounting and refund in accordance with ORS 90.300.
C. Amounts Withheld for Repair
1. A Landlord may only apply Security Deposit funds for the repair and replacement of those fixtures, appliances, equipment or personal property that are identified in the Rental Agreement and to which a depreciated value is attached in accordance with the depreciation schedule published on the Portland Housing Bureau website. A Landlord may provide documentation reasonably acceptable to a Tenant demonstrating why a different calculation is justified for a particular item.
2. A Landlord may claim from the Security Deposit amounts equal only to the costs reasonably necessary to repair the premises to its condition existing at the commencement of the Rental Agreement (“Commencement Date”); provided however, that a Landlord may not claim any portion of the Security Deposit for routine maintenance; for ordinary wear and tear; for replacement of fixtures, appliances, equipment, or personal property that failed or sustained damage due to causes other than the Tenant’s acts or omissions; or for any cost that is reimbursed by a Landlord’s property or comprehensive general liability insurance or by a warranty.
3. Any Landlord-provided fixtures, appliances, equipment, or personal property, the condition of which a Landlord plans to be covered by the Tenant Security Deposit, shall be itemized by description and depreciated value and incorporated into the Rental Agreement.
4. A Landlord may not apply the Tenant Security Deposit to the cost of cleaning or repair of flooring material except as expressly provided in ORS 90.300(7)(c) and only if additional cleaning or replacement is necessitated by use in excess of ordinary wear and tear and is limited to the costs of cleaning or replacement of the discrete impacted area and not for the other areas of the Dwelling Unit.
5. A Landlord may not apply the Tenant Security Deposit to the costs of interior painting of the leased premises, except to repair specific damage caused by the Tenant in excess of ordinary wear and tear, or to repaint walls that were painted by the Tenant without permission.
D. Condition Reports
1. Within 7 days following the Commencement Date, a Tenant may complete and submit to the Landlord a Condition Report on a form provided by the Landlord, noting the condition of all fixtures, appliances, equipment, and personal property listed in the Rental Agreement, and noting damage (the “Condition Report”). Unless the Landlord disputes the Condition Report, and the Tenant and the Landlord obtain third-party validation of the condition of the Dwelling Unit, the Tenant’s Condition Report shall establish the baseline condition of the Dwelling Unit as of the Commencement Date against which the Landlord will be required to assess any Dwelling Unit repair or replacement needs identified in a Final Inspection that will result in costs that may be deducted from the Tenant Security Deposit as of termination of the Rental Agreement (the “Termination Date”). An unresolved dispute as to the condition of the Dwelling Unit as of the Commencement Date shall be resolved in favor of the Tenant. If the Tenant does not complete and submit a Condition Report to the Landlord within 7 days of the Commencement Date then the Landlord shall thereafter complete and provide to the Tenant a Condition Report including digital photographs of the premises within 17 days following the Commencement Date. The Landlord shall update the Condition Report to reflect all repairs and replacements impacting the Dwelling Unit during the term of the Rental Agreement and shall provide the updated Condition Report to the Tenant.
2. Within 1 week following the Termination Date a Landlord shall conduct a walk-through of the Dwelling Unit at the Tenant’s option, with the Tenant or Tenant’s representative, to document any damage beyond ordinary wear and tear not noted on the Condition Report (the “Final Inspection”). The Tenant, or the Tenant’s representative, may choose to be present for the Final Inspection. The Landlord must give notice of the date and time of the Final Inspection at least 24 hours in advance to the Tenant.
3. A Landlord shall prepare an itemization describing any repair and replacement in accordance with the fixture, appliances, equipment, or personal property identified in the Rental Agreement. The Landlord shall document any visual damage in excess of normal wear and tear with photographs that the Landlord shall provide to the Tenant with a written accounting in accordance with ORS 90.300 (12). To the extent that a Landlord seeks to charge labor costs greater than $200 to a Tenant, the Landlord must provide documentation demonstrating that the labor costs are reasonable and consistent with the typical hourly rates in the metropolitan region. A Landlord may not charge for the repair of any damage or replacement of malfunctioning or damaged appliances, fixtures, equipment, or personal property noted on the Condition Report.
E. Notice of Rights. Contemporaneously with the delivery of the written accounting required by ORS 90.300 (12), a Landlord must also deliver to the Tenant a written notice of rights regarding Security Deposits (“Notice of Rights”). Such Notice of Rights must specify all Tenant’s right to damages under this Section. The requirement in this Subsection may be met by delivering a copy of this Section to the Tenant and contact information for the nearest Legal Aid Services of Oregon, or online and physical address of the Oregon State Bar.
F. Rent Payment History. Within 5 business days of receiving a request from a Tenant or delivering a notice of intent to terminate a tenancy, a Landlord must provide a written accounting to the Tenant of the Tenant’s Rent payment history that covers up to the prior 2 years of tenancy, as well as a fully completed Rental History Form available on the Portland Housing Bureau website. The Landlord shall also provide the Tenant with an accounting of the Security Deposit as soon as practicable but no later than within the time frames prescribed by ORS 90.300.
G. Damages. A Landlord that fails to comply with any of the requirements of this Section shall be liable to the Tenant for an amount double to the amount of the Tenant’s Security Deposit, plus reasonable attorney fees, and costs (collectively, “Damages”). Any Tenant aggrieved by a Landlord’s noncompliance with the foregoing has a cause of action in any court of competent jurisdiction for Damages and such other remedies as may be appropriate.
H. Delegation of Authority. In carrying out the provisions of this Section 30.01.087, the Director of PHB, or a designee, is authorized to adopt, amend, and repeal administrative rules to carry out and administer the provisions of this Section 30.01.087
(Remainder of Notice Hidden)
© 2019-2021 Oregon Rental Housing Association - All Rights Reserved
PO Box 20862, Keizer, OR 97307